Lesson 1, Topic 1
In Progress

2.2.1 Introduction

Tying into the four cardinal virtues of Plato and their further development through Aristotle, throughout the entire Middle Ages, Christian ethics was understood as “doctrine of virtue.”

Plato’s Four Cardinal Virtues 

Wisdom: σοφια

Courage: ανδρεια

Moderation: σωφρϖσυνη

Justice: δικαιοσυνη

To these are added the Biblical “theological virtues” (1 Cor. 13:13)

Medieval Theological Virtues

Fides: πιστισ

Spes: ελπισ

Caritas: αγαπη